Why We Don’t Have to Listen to Satan

By Ney Bailey

“If I were to tempt you, you would know it. If I were to accuse you, you would know it. But if I were to deceive you, you wouldn’t know it. The power of Satan is in the lie. If you remove the lie you remove the power.”

It was early January. I had just returned home from speaking at several conferences. I awakened that day depressed and discouraged. I was having thoughts like: “My life is over. You’ve already lived the best years of your life. My ministry is over. It doesn’t feel like God loves me.” Why would I have those thoughts? Where did they come from? And how could I make them go away? By the end of the day I was fine. My spirits were lifted and I had hope. But what did I know and what did I do that brought about the change? That’s what I want to share with you, so that you too can have victory whenever fear or discouragement or some other spiritual battle descends upon you.

In my years of ministry I have learned that we have an enemy of our souls. You don’t see him but he’s there. 1 Peter 5:8 says, “Be on the alert, your adversary the devil prowls about like a roaring lion seeking someone to devour. Resist him, firm in your faith.” Thus, we resist him by being firm and taking God at His Word.

Who is Satan?

Leave a Reply

