Lasting Beauty

by Arlene Pellicane

Before a young woman’s turn came to go in to King Xerxes, she had to complete twelve months of beauty treatments prescribed for the women, six months with oil of myrrh and six with perfumes and cosmetics.” Esther 2:12 (NIV)

Devotion Graphic

I looked in the mirror with concern and disappointment. My left eye had turned very red. I had conjunctivitis — often known as “pink eye.”

I began using eye drops to treat my eye. To stop the spread of the infection, you aren’t supposed to wear any makeup or use contact lenses. Well, I use both to improve my appearance!

I thought about where I would be seen in public over the next few days, and must confess I considered staying home from church Wednesday night because I didn’t want to go without makeup and wearing glasses. Thankfully, I didn’t skip church, but I did feel embarrassed about my appearance. . . .

[s o u r c e]

 

Leave a Reply

