Does God Want You to Spend Time with People Who Always Hurt You?

by April Motl

Does God Want You to Spend Time with People Who Always Hurt You?

I grew up on old movies and classic sitcoms. Summer mornings always included a dose of I Love Lucy and The Andy Griffith Show. Now, when the need to take a lazy break pulls at me until I can’t stand up any more, rather reluctantly I succumb to the TV thing. Me and my tiny man-child plop down for a shared re-run of Andy Griffith.

As I started rewatching the series as an adult, I realized how much watching these TV shows seep into our worldview as kids. Andy Taylor is known for being the “sheriff without a gun” because he says most folks are good and sensible enough that if you just have a nice chat, most things can be worked out.

I love that idea. I wish the world worked that way outside the little box in my living room. I wish the powers that be could sit down to a game of Scrabble and work out the problems all over the globe. And I have wished, prayed, worked, sweated, cried, prayed more, and tried for relationships in my life to work that way too.

I want every issue to be talk-out-able. I want every relationship in my life to brim over with warm fuzzies. But in God’s gracious wisdom, …

read the original article…

Leave a Reply

