Naaman – a servant’s heart

originally posted by Steven P. Wickstrom

It seems to me that we live in a “me first” society. This is an era where “I want” and “I will” and “I need” and “I will not” reigns supreme. The god of self is worshiped daily. “I am number one, and you are nothing to me” is the prevailing attitude in our country today. Our society encourages this worship of self. Hollywood glamorizes it in the movies and on television. The attitude can be summed up like this: If I’m going to serve anyone, it is going to be myself.

God expects and even demands that we behave exactly opposite of the way the world does. God wants us to die to ourselves and serve others. God did not put you on this earth to serve yourself, instead He put you here to serve others. This is how all Christians should think. But it’s not easy because it goes against our flesh. As you may know, self dies hard. In fact, it doesn’t want to die at all.

The following story is about how Naaman learned to become a servant. It has many relevant points that apply to us today. We can learn from Naaman and the other people in this story just what it means to be a servant. So open your Bible to 2 Kings chapter 5, open your mind, open your heart, and see God’s view of a servant’s heart.

2 Kings 5

(1) Now Naaman, captain of the army of the king of Aram, was a great man with his master, and highly respected, because by him the Lord had given victory to Aram. The man was also a valiant warrior, but he was a leper.

c o n t i n u e . .

Leave a Reply

