Ask Jayson: How Can I Convince My Atheist Friend?

originally posted by Jayson D. Bradley

 

atheist-friend

 

Jayson,

I have a good atheist friend that I have known for 26 years. (Guess what I feel guilty that he hasn’t become a Christian yet). Last week we were having quite a heated debate about whether the Bible was “God’s Word.” He kept getting very upset that I was calling it that, and he said that “God, if he exists, has never spoken to us.”

I said that Christians believe that Jesus is God and therefore whatever Jesus said was actually God talking. My friend started muttering, “You’re all delusional.” That really ended the conversation.

I am just wondering where to go from here. I really value his friendship and he is a kind, loyal and faithful friend (Unlike some Christians I know). I have thought about talking about the Dead Sea Scrolls and the fact that they date to 300 years before Christ and contain the whole of Isaiah (including the centrepiece of the Old Testament- Isaiah 53). I have also thought of trying to talk to him about some of C. S. Lewis’s ideas in Mere Christianity about how everybody has this idea in their heads about right and wrong behaviour and where does it come from?
Do you have any ideas?

Confused

Confused,

Thanks for taking the time to write. I appreciate your question, but I’m afraid that you’re not going to like my answer. Let me start by saying that I’m not on the inside of your relationship. All friendships develop their own unique dance, and the two of you might enjoy bickering about faith. God knows I’ve had relationships like that, so take this response with a grain of salt. . .

 

Continue reading..

Leave a Reply

